11 Gluten-Free Candies For Your Halloween Party

The Halloween parties have already started, and the trick-or-treaters are picking out their spookiest costumes and getting ready to fill their bellies with sweet treats. But, unfortunately some of your little goblins have allergies that prevent them from partaking in many of the holiday's traditional snacks. If you want to make sure to have treats for all of your guests, you can buy or make several gluten-free candies for your Halloween party.

The Celiac Disease Foundation (CDF) estimated that about one in 100 people have celiac disease. This is an inherited autoimmune disease in which ingesting gluten can lead to damage of the small intestine. According to the CDF, studies show that only about 0.4 percent of people have a doctor-diagnosed wheat allergy. Wheat contains gluten and a true allergic response can include skin, respiratory and gastrointestinal symptoms. A larger number of people have what’s referred to as a “non-celiac gluten sensitivity,” which can produce similar symptoms as celiac disease, but doctors are still researching its cause.

When it comes to picking out Halloween candy, it can be a tough call. For the most part, anything with a wafer or a crispy inside is at a high risk for containing gluten. Since some unexpected candies contain flour or wheat products, or are made in plants that process wheat products, it's important to do your research. This can be accomplished by going to the manufacturer's website, or by visiting a reputable site that creates up-to-date lists of gluten-free foods.

If you're ready to get your Halloween party started, here are some gluten-free candies all of your guests can enjoy.



According to the Smarties website, "all Smarties products are gluten-free and safe to eat for people with celiac disease." Additionally, the site noted that Smarties are manufactured in facilities that "produce exclusively gluten-free candies.


Homemade Red Cherry Licorice

Most red licorice is not gluten-free, but Gluten-Free On A Shoestring has a recipe for gluten-free red cherry licorice so you don't miss out.


Tootsie Rolls

According to Tootsie Roll Inc, all Tootsie Roll confections are gluten-free. The site noted that that there is no wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt in their products.


Laffy Taffy

Wonka's Laffy Taffy by Nestle is gluten-free according to the Celiac Disease Foundation.


Homemade Caramel Cookie Bars

Another gluten-free candy option from Gluten-Free On A Shoestring are these caramel cookie bars. Don't these look yummy?


Haribo Gold Bears

Haribo Gold Bears are included in Urban Taste Bud's gluten-free candy list.


Reese's Pieces

According to the Hershey website all Reese's Pieces candy are gluten-free, except for Reese's Pieces Eggs.


Homemade Candy Bracelets

Your littlest Halloween party guests will love these gluten-free homemade candy bracelets from Fork and Beans.


Hershey's Kisses

Hershey's milk chocolate Kisses are gluten-free according to the Celiac Disease Foundation.


Dum Dums

According to the Spangler Candy website, "Dum Dums do not contain the gluten protein found in wheat, barley, rye, or oats."


Mike And Ike Original Fruits

The Celiac Disease Foundation also lists Mike And Ike Original Fruits as a gluten-free candy option.