Carl Court/Getty Images News/Getty Images

Can You Turn Off Snapchat's Map For Some People? Here's How To Disable It

By
Share

With all the political chaos going on in the world right now, keeping track of what's what has been a struggle. Managing to stay on top of personal things, the news, and you know, getting a good night's sleep isn't exactly easy these days. And now, a new Snapchat update is adding to the mix of chaos. Snapchat's Snap Map, the latest feature from the selfie-centric app, has sparked controversy for it's alleged security risks. But, there are ways around the app's newest feature. So, can you turn off Snapchat map for some people? Or is it an all or nothing feature?

Last week, Snapchat launched another update in the ongoing battle with its competition, Instagram stories, seeking to set itself apart. However, not everyone is pleased with the Snapchat Snap Map feature, with many alleging that it compromises privacy. Snap Map "tracks your current location and places your Bitmoji avatar on a map like a pin," according to Wired. "Others can zoom in and find exactly where you are, down to the street address." And while users can go into "ghost mode" to turn off the Snap Map, some might want to share their location with specific friends, raising the question of a customizable sharing feature.

Before anything actually happens, though, users have to first update their Snapchat app in order to even access the map. Then, the app should take users through instructions on how to use the map feature, however it might not. In case it doesn't, here's what you need to know:

If you’re opening the app for the first time after the update, Snapchat will walk you through a step-by-step tutorial on how to use the Snap Map. First, it’ll show you how to pinch and zoom in the camera tool to access the map. Next, it’ll ask who you want to see your location.
You get three choices: all your friends, select friends, or only me. Choosing “only me” activates what Snapchat calls Ghost Mode.

So, if you were wanting to only share your location with certain friends, that is in fact a possibility. However, if you change your mind, it's fairly simple to update your Map settings and go into ghost mode, or to allow all your friends to see you. Simply pinch your screen (like your zooming in) and tap the Settings icon on the upper right corner. From there you can decided who to share your location with. Snapchat's Snap Map is an opt-in feature, Snapchat's PR team told Romper in an email. The map doesn't turn on and doesn't track users unless a user gives it permission and selects what audiences can see that user on the map.

So, whether you love or hate Snapchat's newest feature, you'll be able to control who sees what. Just make sure everything is updated, and that you've selected your preferred settings in order to make the most out of the location-sharing feature.