Michael Regan/Getty Images Sport/Getty Images

How To Turn Off Snapchat’s Snap Map Feature, Because Privacy

By
Share

On Wednesday, Snapchat debuted its latest feature, Snap Map, a social map that allows users to share their location and find friends on a map. Some users are seeing the tools as a fun new upgrade to the photo-sharing app — but others are getting a serious case of the creeps. If you're not such a huge fan of the feature, never fear: here's how to turn off Snapchat's Snap Map feature.

After you've updated the app on either iOS or Android, you'll want to pinch the screen from Snapchat's main camera mode in order to get to Snap Map. From there, you'll be able to set up the Snap Map feature, and it'll ask you right off the bat who you would like to share your location with. Instead of selecting "My Friends" or "Select Friends," make sure you tap "Only Me (Ghost Mode" if you want to keep your location private.

Already set up Snap Map but having second thoughts about broadcasting your location? Don't worry, you're allowed to change your mind anytime. Here's how you can hide your location on Snap Map either during the initial set-up or afterwards, depending on when you want to go into stealth mode.

During Initial Set-Up

Once you've pinched the screen and gotten your intro, make sure you select "Only Me (Ghost Mode)" when sharing your location. Ta-da! You're safely invisible.

After You've Set Up Snap Map

Turning on Ghost Mode after you've already set things up is a little different, but it's still fairly straightforward. Just pinch the screen to access Snap Map, then click the settings button in the top right corner of the screen (it looks like a little gear). From there, you can check or uncheck "Ghost Mode" or select if you'd like only specific friends to see your location.

And that's how it's done. On a side note, Snap Map only updates your location if you have the app open, according to The Verge, so you don't have to worry about broadcasting your location as you make your way around the city unless you're sending constant Snaps. If you don't open Snapchat for several hours, your Bitmoji will just disappear off of Snap Map, rather than making it look like you just live at the Starbucks down the road.

Whether you're into the new tool or not, it's always smart to keep your safety in mind when you're sharing your location with a broad audience. Other than that, however, have fun exploring Snap Map. We clearly live in the future.